Thursday, July 30, 2015

I Have Never Nailed Release Day...But Here Goes!

These arrived today! And they have been a long time coming. I'm so thrilled to announce the release of the second book in the Daughter of Light fantasy trilogy, Half Mortal.

As a young girl, I was completely unaware that several of my favorite authors were men: J. R. R. Tolkien, C. S. Lewis, and Stephen King. However, as I grew older, I came to realize: WAIT A MINUTE! Where are those female heroes? Now, we have a lot more stories with females front and center. AWESOME! I am proud to add the story told in Daughter of Light to that growing class of fantasy works.

I fell completely in love with Peter Jackson's The Lord of the Rings. I became obsessed with studying how the books were edited for the big screen. The screenwriters did an amazing job. (I'm not discussing The Hobbit!) So when I set out to write the story that would become Daughter of Light, almost a decade ago, I wanted to create something epic along the lines of LOTR. And I wanted to make it more contemporary. And I wanted to make it about women. Check. Check. Check.

Melia takes an amazing journey in Half Mortal. The challenges and adventures she faces in this second installment deepen and strengthen both her identity and her relationships with the people she loves and cares about. She grows far beyond the young half-faerie that she was in the opening pages of Half Faerie.

So, if you haven't begun reading, you can pick up a copy of Isolt's Enchantment. The short novel, introducing the young priest from Idonne and the historic events that lead up to Melia's story, is free!

And if you want to keep reading, or share a gift with a friend or loved one, you can pick up a copy of Half Faerie for $0.99 thru Labor Day.

If you've been reading all along, then you can continue with the next installment of Melia's fearless journey and epic transformation in Half Mortal now!
B&N (Coming Soon!)

Tuesday, June 30, 2015

#AskELJames Twitter Chat

I haven't read Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James. Nor have I seen the movie. However, I confess I've done some rubbernecking.The best I can tell from the sidelines, Fifty Shades of Grey has achieved what Larry Flint could not. Making the sexual degradation of woman: Hot, Sexy, Fairy Tale-ish. Who says women aren't better pimps than men?

Anyway ... I couldn't help but grin when I caught wind of the #AskELJames Twitter chat yesterday.

It started like this:
Because she got some questions like this:

Which apparently, she didn't answer.

Honestly, if E.L. James had risen to the occasion and answered some of these very legitimate questions, I think it would have been awesome, a real publicity coup.

#Disappointed that she did not.

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Fantasy Book Lane Reviews Half Faerie

Last week I shared Erica Lane's review of Isolt's Enchantment. This week I'm going to share her review of Half Faerie...

Let me begin by saying this is an immense fantasy world complete with old tales and legends. A lot of thought has gone into creating this world, and it really shows. Present are faeries, pixies, elves, brownies, and trolls. There are some pretty cool cat characters with distinct personalities, along with a goat that is smarter than some people. Add in some dwarves who love to cook (who I thought were just plain awesome), and you’ve got a rich fairy tale world. The presence of pixies and animal characters might give one the impression that this book is intended for children, but it definitely isn’t. The plot is complex, as are the characters, making this a high fantasy fairy tale fit for adults.

To read the rest of the review please visit Fantasy Book Lane.

Thank you, Erica!
Half Faerie, Daughter of Light #1 is available at these stores:

Add Half Faerie to your Goodreads Shelf

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Fantasy Book Lane Reviews Isolt's Enchantment

Erica Lane at Fantasy Book Lane has reviewed Isolt's Enchantment. Thank you, Erica!

Young Ryder learns the epic histories of the Realm of Faerie and longs to travel there himself. First and foremost, this book is a teaser to entice readers to enjoy more books in the series. I grabbed this on a free download, and I must say that it certainly served its purpose. This is a delightful teaser, and I’d love to read more of the story...

Read the rest of the review at Fantasy Book Lane!

I love fantasy and appreciate that Erica focuses on fantasy as a reviewer. It makes her reviews especially thoughtful, as she has a broad knowledge of the genre. If you write fantasy as well, visit her Review Policy page here.
The Daughter of Light prequel Isolt's Enchantment is Free: